Day 12 – Lake Take-A-Poo

Hi!

Queenstown was an amazing place to visit and I’m so happy I could be there. With there only being 5 days left of our holiday trip, I was able to budget money better knowing what I wanted to do with the remaining days and how much it would all cost. I ended up having a little bit extra, which was nice! Today was another long bus ride to Lake Tekapo, pronounced as ‘Lake Take-a-Poo’.

IMG_4097The scenery along the way was absolutely GORGEOUS! I cannot express enough how beautiful New Zealand is… It has the bluest skies and bluest waters. The air is so clean and refreshing. Lake Tekapo is quite the opposite from its name–beauty all around! There was also a stop at a junction where some Kiwi Experience backpackers got off to go to Mt. Cook. Unfortunately, we didn’t have time to go to Mt. Cook, but maybe someday when I visit New Zealand again, I’ll have a chance to go! πŸ˜‰

IMG_4102Our accommodation was interesting as we stayed in a cabin-like hostel. There wasn’t a whole lot to do at Lake Tekapo besides take in the scenery, hiking, or watch movies in the lounge area. We ended up napping, skipping out on our expected hike, and watched some movies. Afterwards, we went outside to observe the stars. Now, I wasn’t able to capture any photos of stars because my iphone 5s is so limited, but it was unforgettable. Lake Tekapo is known for being one of the least ‘light-polluted’ places on earth, which means stars are phenomenal in this area. It was true. And it was surreal. For those interested in seeing the stars even better, there is a sky deck observatory. It isΒ pretty costly thoughΒ so I ended up just gazing up where I was. At this point in the trip, Diana and I decided that she was my ‘replacement boyfriend’ with doing all the romantic cheesy stuff like star-gazing. πŸ˜‰ Hey, she was a fantastic date and she is single. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

I was tired then, but the next day will be even more exhausting as we spend the entire day traveling. And I mean, literally the entire day. Our adventures will pick up once we get onto the North Island again! πŸ™‚

Cheers,

Jess

Leave a Reply

