A Weekend in Penang, Malaysia

Hi everyone!

Louis (the boyfriend) and I spent a weekend in Penang, Malaysia mostly for eating food and visiting some tourist attractions! Louis really wanted to bring me there so I had no idea what to expect until we were on our way. Here are some of the things we did!

IMG_5873Β IMG_5860Made in Penang Interactive Museum

Okay, so I have never been to an interactive museum until Penang. And to be honest, I had a lot more fun than I expected! Throughout the museum, there are a lot of optical illusions depicted as 3D-looking images. There are certain spots you can pose to make it seem like you’re a part of the pictures. You can clearly see here that we like to steal and I really, really, really, hate shrimp (I seriously hate shrimp). I’m so glad Louis was willing to pose goofy with me! We had some good laughs and I definitely won’t forget Penang for it! πŸ™‚

IMG_5910Khoo Kongsi

When I think of southeast Asia, I think of all the beautifully designed temples. I knew I needed to see as many as I could so we went and found Khoo Kongsi. I was absolutely amazed at how detailed and well-done this structure was! This was the first temple I visited during my trip so I was pretty excited you might say! πŸ˜€

I learned that Khoo Kongsi is actually for the family name of dynasties. This particular one is for the “Khoo” family. There were family tree diagrams inside explaining each name and the significance over time. Louis said that there are many temples specific to family names in which people visit. For example, Khoo family members would visit this temple to practice their rituals whereas ___ family members would practice at their temple, etc. I hope that wasn’t too confusing. I’m still learning myself! I enjoyed seeing this beautiful temple and definitely recommend it!

IMG_5957Kek Lok Si Temple

The Kek Lok Si TempleΒ was on my list of things to see for sure! If you like temples, then this is another one to see besides Khoo Kongsi!

IMG_6046Look how gorgeous it is! Pretty easy on the eyes, aye? And to top it off, it was a perfect day to go out and see Kek Lok Si Temple. Similar to the Khoo Kongsi, anyone can visit the temple and there are areas where people can practice their traditions / religion. I saw people burning incense, bowing, and writing on ribbons. Louis was one of these people and I chose to just observe. I did participate in writing on a ribbon though! There are a variety of ribbon colors and each one with a different word or saying. Some examples include health, togetherness with family, peace, being together forever, wealth, etc. IMG_5963I wrote my name along with those close to me and hung it onto a tree. Louis also wrote one for us in his beautiful Chinese handwriting! Check out my man’s writing skills! Anyways, this temple is gorgeous with plenty of walking space, monuments, gift shops, and picturesque architecture. The only thing I didn’t enjoy was the heat–but that’s probably because I wasn’t used to the weather quite yet. πŸ˜‰

IMG_6018Penang Hill

I was so excited to see Penang Hill as I’m a sucker for sight-seeing. What better way to see sights than from up above? After purchasing our tickets (which my ticket was TWICE as expensive as Louis’ ticket… ya know, since I’m not a Malaysia citizen. Oh well!), we had to get onto a lift. This lift was kind of scary. :/ It would stop constantly and even fall backwards a little bit. Louis and I exchanged glances at each other a couple times, but nobody seemed phased by it–must be normal! We got up the hill safely, so no worries I guess haha.

IMG_6019Once we were on the top of the hill, Louis started crying (okay, not really) because of how long the line was to take the lift down! I quote him, “Oh my God… Well babe, I guess I will just get in line to beat the rush! See ya!” He always makes me laugh! πŸ™‚ Despite the long line, we walked past and enjoyed the scenery. To my surprise, the view was a lot foggier than I pictured. It wasn’t quite like the view from the Petronas Twin Towers, but still enjoyable for the most part!

IMG_6078I couldn’t help but think how grateful I am to have the opportunity to explore Malaysia! And especially with my partner, Louis. I guess international relationships have their perks, huh? πŸ˜‰

To end our wonderful weekend, we caught upΒ with some friends we met back in the U.S. Of course we had to experience some nightlife in Penang and what better way to do it than with friends?

Cheers,

Jess

Leave a Reply

