Chatuchak Weekend Market

Hello everyone!

I hope everyone is having a great week so far! I am very excited to say that I am almost all caught up on blogging about my travels abroad! I’ve been back ‘home’ for nearly 2 months now (crazy how time flies) and I finally posted all of my travel photos on Facebook. At this point, I’m about 4 blog posts away from being caught up! Another little project of mine that I’ve been doing is creating picture / scrap books online of my travels. So far, I’ve only been using Shutterfly, but if you have any other suggestions, do let me know in the comments! 🙂

IMG_7118 IMG_7116Anyways, back to what this post is about! In Thailand, there is a famous market called Chatuchak Weekend Market. It is the biggest market in Thailand and we easily spent hours at this place! This market is HUGE. To give you a better picture, it is an outdoor market with shops upon shops next to each other. With that being said, there is no AC so it gets pretty stuffy and hot at the market!

IMG_7120 IMG_7119 IMG_7124There are also some local food spots in the market ranging from meats to fruits to soup. On top of that, there are packaged foods as well.

IMG_7125The kinds of things you could buy are not limited to, but include bedding, souvenirs (I sure bought a ton of souvenirs), kitchen appliances, clothing, cell phone accessories, and even pets! This is when I discovered how cute puppies really can be and how I really, really, really want one! 😀 I mean, look how cute they are!

IMG_7131 IMG_7132 IMG_7139After shopping around and eating some local food, it was starting to get pretty hot as it was around lunch time / early afternoon, which meant the sun was blazing. I started to get kind of cranky from the heat (not used to the heat in Bangkok) so we walked around a little while longer and out of the market place. There are some nice grassy areas around the market, so it was good to cool down and not be so congested with all the other shoppers.

IMG_7138IMG_7135 We had a successful shopping trip at Chatuchak Weekend Market and I must say, we didn’t even get to see all of the shops (partly because we got lost a few times and partly I got a little cranky from the heat)! It really is a huge place and I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for some cheap souvenirs (where you can test out your bargaining skills!), delicious food, and just to entertain yourself with all of the neat things they have to offer there!

Have you been to Chatuchak Weekend Market? What was your experience like? 🙂

Until next time,

Jess

Leave a Reply

