Coming Back to America

Hello there!

IMG_7547 IMG_7549 IMG_7548This post means I am officially caught up with my blog! You have no idea how much of a relief this is for me! Hopefully, I won’t be falling behind again. πŸ˜‰

In the previous post, I mentioned a layover in Guangzhou, China before coming to America. Unfortunately, it wasn’t the last layover for me before arriving ‘home’. But before I get ahead of myself, let’s talk about my looooooong flight! I flew from Guangzhou, China to Los Angeles, California and that in itself is about 14 hours. I tried to stay up as late as I could watching movies, playing games, and looking through all of the photos from my journey via iphone. This was so I could adjust to the time difference and hopefully pass out from exhaustion as I have trouble sleeping on planes. 😦

IMG_7554So, my seat was the window seat, which sounds nice or preferable for some (not everyone likes the window seat!), but the seats next to me were preoccupied, which made going to the bathroom a hassle. To top it off, I wasn’t able to look out the window for a majority of the time as we were flying (backwards?)Β into the night. It really wasn’t all that cracked up to be. Also, sleeping against the window was definitely not happening as this plane was pretty spacious and the space between my seat and the window was very awkward and uncomfortable.

An embarrassing confession: my bottom and neck were both so sore from sitting so much and I have a hard time sleeping on planes to the point where I literally laid down on the floor just to snooze a little. It was the most comfortable sleep on a plane I’ve ever had. I don’t think my neighbor even noticed, and fortunately there was an empty seat between us (which she laid on of course), so I didn’t have any dangling feet on me! πŸ˜€

Well, that loooooooooooooong flight was finally over and my greasy, tired, sore body, jet-laggedΒ self made it to America!

IMG_7558I was greeted with giant, silver words overhead stating ‘Welcome to The United States’ in Los Angeles, California. For once, I actually smiled and felt really excited about being back! My mixed emotions were definitely showing as I went from heartbroken to sad to grateful to excited to relieved in a span of 24 hours. One more flight until I was ‘home’!

MyΒ last flight to Minneapolis, Minnesota was a short one and I don’t have a whole lot to say about it as I fell asleep during that plane ride (so exhausted from the lack of sleep the past 24 hours). So close to being home!

IMG_7569I arrived at the airport with my sister waiting for me. We embraced and familiarity felt so good! πŸ™‚ The weirdest part was driving again. It felt like a reverse-culture shock as I didn’t drive for months! I was starting to get used to seeing cars on the other side of the road and the steering wheel on the other! Very interesting, but I got the hang of it pretty quickly. The rest of the weekend was spent catching up, eating some food that I missed, shopping, movies, and just being siblings!

Even though I miss being abroad (especially Louis), there is nothing quite like familiarity and routine. I was ready to work again (like mentioned in the previous post) and fill up my piggy bank!

IMG_7530One (more like several) amazing adventure(s) to add to the books! My passport is my record-keeper and I am filled with joy thinking of all the places, experiences, people I’ve met, and challenges I faced throughout my time abroad. I hope to continue filling this passport out as I start my career soon!

Not everyone gets the opportunity to travel and I cherish every moment I had. I also feel so happy to be able to do them at this point in life. Right now, I do not have my own family, health issues, unmanageable debt, a criminal record, or addictions (except to traveling πŸ˜‰ hehe) as sometimes these things may prevent people from doing so. Not saying that it’s impossible for others, but for me, I am able to come and go as I please. I can be selfish for a little while longer. πŸ™‚ I know my future self will thank my past self for going out of my comfort zone and having these amazing experiences!

Thank you so much to those that have supported me on my journey, whether it was financial, housing me, giving advice, or just an encouraging ‘good luck’. I just cannot express into words how blessed and grateful I am. And thank you for those that have followed me on my journey via my blog, instagram, or other forms of social media. πŸ™‚ This is a high time in my life, and I cannot forget those that have made it happen for me! THANK YOU!

Cheers,

Jess

Leave a Reply

