Our Kind of Labor Day Weekend

Hi everyone!

IMG_9194 IMG_9193It’s been a little while since I’ve posted anything, so I’m really excited to be writing again! I was trying to decide if it would be worth writing about Labor Day (which was a good 3 weeks ago), so here it is! I mean, why not? It’s my blog, I can write about whatever I want, really! πŸ˜‰

Over Labor Day weekend, my family and I drove to Minneapolis just to enjoy our time together, eat some good food, and get in a nice hike as Fall is approaching. 😦

IMG_9197
My ‘we-didn’t-get-our-karaoke-on’ face.

The first night we spent was at one of our favorite Korean restaurants called Hoban. Not only is the food exceptionally delicious, but there is a karaoke place right next door in which you can get a discount if you eat at the restaurant! Not a bad idea, aye? Of course, we left Friday afternoon and didn’t get to Hoban until pretty late, but we did make it! We ordered some hot pot to share along with some spicy squid.

Unfortunately, we weren’t able to karaoke at Do Re Mi next door because we forgot to make a reservation and at that point, it was almost 11:00 pm. Ahh, screw it, we decided to just head to the hotel, wash up, and get up early for some continental breakfast (I am a huge fan of continental breakfast). And of course, our other plans for the day! πŸ™‚

IMG_9208 IMG_9226After our continental breakfast (sorry no pics, I was so hungry), we spent our Saturday walking along Lake Calhoun, which was breathtaking! It was very serene, but busy enough where there were several people walking the lake as well. There is also a place to do some kayaking, which I really wanted to do (ran out of time). Around the lake is roughly about 3 miles long, so we walked for a good 2 hours. Our sweaty bodies were ready for some AC so weΒ left around lunchtimeΒ and went to our next destination!

IMG_9248IMG_9294Onto Minnehaha Falls we went! Living in the Midwest, I couldn’t believe how many times I’ve visited Minneapolis but never saw this tourist attraction! It was really pretty to see in person and the park was full of trails, picnic areas, and restaurants. WeΒ were at the park for about 2 hours hiking some trails, having our ownΒ outdoor picnic, and just enjoying our time together in the perfect weather! πŸ™‚

IMG_9287Later in the afternoon,Β we got back to the hotel and beautified ourselves as we definitely worked up a sweat (and more than once)! My sister and I wanted to stop by the Mall of America to pick up a few things, so we took the shuttle and spent about an hour there. It was a pretty successful shopping trip as there were a ton of sales going on! Which I guess makes sense since it was Labor Day weekend!

That night, we went back to Hoban, the Korean restaurant (who even does that though… πŸ˜› ), and made sure a reservation was made for karaoke! We ordered some kimbap, rice cake soup, shrimp, and a seafood bibimbap.

Of course, I did NOT take any photos of karaoke because we were so conscious of the time limit (2 hours) and frantically searching for songs (both Korean and English), so instead, I took a break from constantly being on my phone and really enjoyed karaoke wholeheartedly with the fam. πŸ™‚ So happy we could finally karaoke!

IMG_9289To end our trip, we went to a Korean market the next morning (such a Midwest problem… needing to drive hours just to find a decent Asian market πŸ˜€ ), had some very mediocre Chinese food (tasted a lot worse than it looks and I don’t even want to bother posting the other photos), and back on our merry way.

Overall, it was a great weekend spent with family as it always is and we were able to accomplish a lot in a short amount of time! πŸ™‚ These are the kinds of moments I will look back at and be grateful we could do this, especially with the direction our lives are going.Β How did you spend your Labor Day weekend? πŸ™‚

Cheers,

Jess

One thought on “Our Kind of Labor Day Weekend

Leave a Reply

