Deep Fried Everything, Reunions, and Religion

Hi there!

IMG_9654
First time trying a deep fried snickers bar!

Not too long ago, I was able to take a break from working so much and met with one of my very good, childhood, lifelong friends, Brittany! πŸ™‚ She came over to visit the Midwest from sunny California and I’m so glad she did!

IMG_9637Since we have been friends for such a long time (since 5th grade… 5th grade!), we have been toΒ the annual Clay County Fair several times. Now that we are old people, it had been quite some time since either of us have gone. So now that we were both ‘home’, why not head to the fair?!

IMG_9664 IMG_9662We walked around the fair looking at exhibits, things for sale, tractors, corn, a magic show, sheep, alpaca, horses, pigs, and other animals! Unfortunately, we did not see any cows 😦 Brittany and I managed to get in a lot of walking and girl time that day, so we’re happy about that!

IMG_9709 IMG_9693 IMG_9696But even with all of the walking, we had to indulge in fried everything, so we got cheese curds, fried snickers, and funnel cake (mmmmmmmmm)! I mean, when at Clay County Fair, amiright? πŸ˜‰ We both decided that we really are two fat girls are heart <3. No shame in that!

IMG_9686In between bites, super-mama-Brittany and I entertained her baby girl (because basically all of my friends are married and are starting families :P) so that she could enjoy the fair, too! And I think she did with seeing all of the animals and sights!

I guess I forgot to mention that the Clay County Fair has an amusement park (which you could’ve guessed since it’s a fair, but just to be sure) which is always pretty fun, but since baby was too little, we opted out on any rides ;). We’re old people anyways. πŸ˜‰ That just means that they will have to come back again in the future! πŸ˜€

IMG_9727IMG_9726After dropping baby off to grandma’s, Brittany and I got dressed for the night so we could go see the Aussie band, For King and CountryΒ and the much anticipatedΒ Casting Crowns! Click on the names if you’d like to know more about these bands! As a general overview, they are both Christian Rock bands and perform on stage a little differently from other artists on stage. Of course, there’s the music but not only that–there are messages, bible verses, and prayer. Of course, some people may not be comfortable with that kind of thing or have different religious views, but IΒ canΒ definitelyΒ say that I enjoyed my time there! πŸ™‚

IMG_9746 IMG_9740I’ve never seen For King and Country live, but I have seen Casting Crowns before, and they are amazing! They were even more amazing the second time around. We both really enjoyed For King and Country as well (even though we missed a few songs.. oops :D). They were a great opener and there’s nothing better than knowing a few songs even though you’re not as familiar with the band. πŸ™‚ Casting Crowns played a lot of songs I was familiar with and they had some really great messages. One phrase really stuck with me that night that I’d like to share.

God doesn’t love you because you are good; He loves you because He is good. πŸ™‚

Being somewhat of a perfectionist that I am, this resonated with me. Sometimes I feel like I constantly need to be a good person in order to feel accepted, but I just need to step back and know that I am loved no matter what! I know it’s not as simple as that, but that’s something I would have to write a completely new post about. πŸ˜‰

NYC 2014 with Brittany :)
NYC 2014 with Brittany πŸ™‚
Visiting Central Park 2014 :)
Visiting Central Park 2014 πŸ™‚

I’m so happy I could see Brittany and meet her baby! I hadn’t seen Brittany for about 9 months, so we have to make the most of those long-distance friendships! πŸ˜‰ Brittany is always there for me, a Skype date away, and never afraid to speak her mind. She really is an amazing person inside and out! If you’d like to know more about my dear bestie friend, you can check her out on her blog here! πŸ™‚ She writes about fitness, recipes, her family, and travels!

Happy reading,

Jess

4 thoughts on “Deep Fried Everything, Reunions, and Religion

Leave a Reply

