Minneapolis Weekend Getaway (again) & A Personal Update

Hi there!
IMG_9981

I’ve been meaning to finish and post this last week, but I ended up getting sick. 😦 I’ve been battling this cold / flu? for almost a week now, and I’m hoping it will be over soon! I’ve been stir-crazy! Luckily, today I feel the motivation and energy to finish this post, so here it is! πŸ™‚

Last weekend, we made a spontaneous trip to Minneapolis (again) packed with a lot of girl time in two days! We left on Sunday morning and drove all the way to Minnesota while our friends had no idea where they were going! πŸ˜‰ Β My sister and I had fun keeping our little secret as they were compliant, but anxious the entire time! πŸ™‚

We arrived at our first secret destination, only to be told that our planned activity couldn’t be done that day, so we had to move our agendaΒ around, which was fine. We got it all worked out and were able to share some of what we were doing with our friends as they were dying in anticipation! πŸ˜‰

After doing some shopping at Petco and the Outlet Mall for shoes, we went on a hike around Lake Calhoun again! You can read about our walk around Lake Calhoun duringΒ Labor Day WeekendΒ here! This time was a little different as we went at sunset time, which was GORGEOUS!

IMG_9824 IMG_9822Here are a few snapshots of Lake Calhoun at sunset! Our walk was very enjoyable and easy to achieve as there was a paved trail around the lake. It would be pretty hard to get lost is what I’m basically saying. πŸ˜‰ Our friends have never been around Lake Calhoun and they seemed to quite enjoy themselves! Not a bad evening, aye? πŸ™‚

IMG_9830 IMG_9828But wait, there’s more! πŸ˜€ Because we did not have a lot of time after our hike, we weren’t able to check into our hotel and wash up before dinner, so we quick-like changed into clothes and headed off to dinner.

We went to Hoban (again) and relived the magic of our Labor Day trip with no regrets! I mean, it’s different when you go with different people, am I right? πŸ™‚

We had kimbap again and some hot pot, which was surprisingly sweet but very delicious! Our other friends got some rice cake soup and a noodle dish. Of course, we all shared to get a taste of everyone’s dish (which is why I’m pretty sure I got sick in the first place…). πŸ™‚ And to follow was our karaoke session at Do Re Mi, which we ended up singing our hearts out and losing our voices after 3 hours. We had too much fun, I tell ya! πŸ˜›

IMG_9839It was a late night indeed. We managed to get some sleep and stopped by the Mall of America to get some bubble tea at one of our favorite places–Tea Garden! πŸ™‚ Embarrassingly enough… my sister poked her straw through her tea only to find it decoratingΒ the floor. She was innocently giggling like a school girl and I’m standing there like the big sister I am, telling her to apologize. I really have a problem with embarrassing moments. I turn red instantly, whether it’s happening to you, me, or anyone. Does this happen to anyone else? I really do try to brush these things off, but I don’t know, they just get to me 80% of the time! :/

Anyways, we stopped at the Asian market (again, that Midwest problem!) and headed out to our missed activity from the day before.

IMG_9850 IMG_9852If you can’t tell already from the photos, this is proof that my sister and friend went SKYDIVING together! πŸ˜€

Here they are getting all suited up after the terrifying ‘precaution’ video stating several times that this is an extreme activity and that you could die. Death. Dying. Willing to die. Although this is possible, it was kind of scary how they portrayedΒ it.Β Either way, they signed their life off through contract and got suited up!

I was so excited for them to jump as I remember when I first jumped! If you’re interested in knowing how my skydiving experience went, you can read about it here. I knew they would have an amazing time! πŸ™‚

IMG_9907 IMG_9934We waited for our friends (and my sister) to land as we frantically looked up in the sky, only finding black specks.

They were up there for a good 15 minutes before we saw anything worth taking photos of.

Luckily, they landed safely and did NOT die! I was so happyΒ for them! THEY DID IT! πŸ™‚

They both had a blasty blast and an experience of a lifetime! I strongly encourage everyone to try something bold, like skydiving, at least once! It will change your life. πŸ™‚ For real.

IMG_9935To endΒ our wonderful time together, we ate at Five Guys Burgers and Fries for the first time (more like four girls and no guys… HA)! It was actually quite good. I’m not a huge meat eater, but sometimes, you just need a good burger!

In regards to my personal update, I am super excited about my future dreams becoming a reality! My time in America won’t be for much longer, so I’m doing my best on writing about my experiences and finishing up some personal business before I take off! I haven’t quite announced it yet, but I will be teaching abroad soon! πŸ™‚ More information to come as I work through the VISA process.

Stay tuned,

Jess

Leave a Reply

