One Week in Korea

Hello everyone!

Time for an update! I know I haven’t been good about keeping everyone posted about my new adventure (via blog)… But let me tell you aboutΒ what I’ve been up to!

IMG_0728In my last post, I mentioned that I got a teaching job in South Korea! But before I could jump right into the classroom, I had to go through some intense training. On the first day, I had to say goodbye to my other half at an all-too-familiar airport… 😦

IMG_0744The 6-7 hour flight went by pretty quickly. Before I knew it, I made it to South Korea! πŸ™‚ I was instructed to find a specific taxi and be transported to a hotel where I would be staying for the week (along with the other trainers). That was when I met my awesome roomies!

IMG_0753We spent the first night in Gangnam (강남) eating at a Korean restaurant,Β getting to know each other, and discussing our worries about intensive training! Wanting to make the most of our free time, we did some Korean-style karaoke (λ…Έλž˜λ°©). That was a blasty-blast! Not a bad way to end the night. πŸ™‚

IMG_0758IMG_0789

With one last free day before intensive training, we decided to explore around by eating LOTS of food and dessert, hanging out at a cat cafe (SO CUTE), and almost seeing Namsan Tower. The wait was over an hour, so we decided it would be better to go another time as it was already getting dark. We did a lot in one day!

IMG_0767I won’t go into details aboutΒ how training went, but I can say that it was very intense. Basically, we spent the entire week studying online videos of teaching tutorials, student management, and the curriculum for the schools. We spent in-class time with mock teaching, which was super awkward at first, but after the second day, you kind of get used to it. There was barely any time for fun, so I was basically sheltered into the hotel with my roommates, studying and mocking.

IMG_0883Oh, I did forget to mention that on the first day of training, we had our medical exam. It was interesting as far as how organized it was. The nurses had to get through probably 50 of us, which they managed to do quite nicely! It felt like an assembly line: one checkup in this room, another checkup in that room. Either way, the fasting totally sucked, but I passed the medical exam!

So after that intensive week of training, we had our mock exam and written exam. The written exam was a piece of cake, but the mock was what I was most nervous about. It was over all of the content we learned so we had to know every section pretty thoroughly. No worries, I PASSED! πŸ™‚

IMG_0922
Miss my roomies already!

We (one roommate at myself as we were placed in the same school!) immediately went into a pre-arranged taxi and were shuttled off to our new school! I may or may not have dozed off during that one hour drive… We visited the school, all of the staff (which they all seemed really nice!), and had lunch. We received our schedules, book materials, and off we went to our new homes! πŸ˜€

I LOVE my cute little apartment! πŸ˜€ I will have to make a separate post about the things I love about my apartment, but in a general sense, it’s cute and perfect for one person and maybe some guests to stay every once in a while. I can’t wait to decorate the place and get some furniture in to make it homey!

All in all, my first week in Korea has been busy to say the least, but very exciting! I am SOOO nervous to start teaching my new classes TOMORROW! Ahh! Wish me luck! Maybe leave some tips or advice in the comments if you have experience teaching ESL in Korea or just teaching in general! I would love to hear what you have to say! πŸ™‚

Until next time,

Jess

One thought on “One Week in Korea

Leave a Reply

