Things I Love (and Not So Love) About My Korean Apartment!

Hello all!

I’ve been meaning to make a post about my apartment, which I mentioned in some of my previous posts. Well, here I am back from my holiday break and getting back into the swing of things! I’ve been living in Korea for over two months now and I’ve settled in a bit, so I think I have a good feel for my studio apartment! So here it is, the things I love (and not so love) about my Korean apartment:

img_2708
Here are my indoor slippers to keep me cozy during winter!
img_2645Floors
Let’s talk about my AWESOME floors! Why are they awesome? Well, apparently it is really common in Korea to have HEATED floors. That’s right–HEATED. I have a dial on the wall in which I can control the water temperature and the floor temperature! It’s quite nice especially since it is now winter time and I can get all cozy in my apartment, heated by floors. Did I mention how awesome it is to have heated floors?! πŸ˜€

img_2644img_2643Bathroom
My bathroom is a pretty good size for one person in Korea (I have seen far smaller). It has tile floors, walls, and a removable shower head. The entire bathroom is designed to be used as a shower (common in Asia) and is controlled by a nob attached to my sink. There were definitely times I forgot to change the nob and got rained on when I needed to wash my hands. Hehe oops. πŸ™‚ I’ve gotten pretty used to showering this way so that’s no problem, BUT I am so sad for the lack of counter space! I am definitely a girl with tons of products ranging from hair to nails to skin. Therefore, I need all the space I can get. Unfortunately, I don’t have a desk in my apartment yet (still working on it) to store some of those things, but I have made some progress by getting a little corner shower stand!

Storage
All right, let’s talk about storage. My apartment is semi-furnished with the basics like a bed, microwave, fridge, washer, shoe case, and storage in the washer area. As a girl with a ton of clothes, products, and shoes… I always need to try to maximize my space. This is why I’m working on getting a dresser and a desk, but for now, I am able to hang my shirts but all my pants and other girly things are still in suitcases.

img_2706Kitchen
I’m not sure if you can really call it a kitchen, but let’s just use that for now! πŸ™‚ As far as the kitchen goes, I have a TON of cabinet space (more than enough, really!) It’s pretty nice for one person, although I do wish there was a little bit more counter space as I actually really enjoy making meals. Oh well, at least I have a kitchen! Beggars can’t be choosers. πŸ˜›

Location
Now, I’ve mentioned a lot about the things in my apartment, but not so much of the area. I am located in a pretty quiet neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and a few shops nearby. I try to walk to the school as much as I can (weather permitting) and it takes about 15-20 minutes. I stroll through the park, past our pretty decent mall, and stop by one of my favorite kimbap shops just about every day! I’m basically a regular now πŸ˜‰ so that’s fun. The only downfall about my location is that I am roughly an hour south of Seoul, however, there is no KTX or train directly from here. That means I have to take a bus to the nearest subway station and then be on my way to Seoul. Based on that, it almost feels like 2 hours rather than one. From my experience, the trains only run until midnight or 12:30 am ish every day, which means I have to leave well in advance if I plan on coming home. It’s been a hassle and I have yet to do the whole stay-out-until-5-am-and-then-take-the-train-and-bus thing. Other than that, I’ve found the area to be suitable for me! πŸ™‚

Future
Since I plan on living in Korea for a few years, I do want to make this place my own. I am working on getting a desk, dresser, and a fold up table low to the ground (for easy storage). The whole getting paid once a month is still something I’m trying to get used to. πŸ˜‰ In the US, we usually get paid every two weeks (some salary jobs pay once a month) so that is what I was used to. I’m also really excited to take some trips in the future! So far, I’ve been to Taiwan since living in Korea (will be posting soon about my Taiwan trip) and I can’t wait to go on more! Of course there is a lot of Korea I want to explore as well, but a lot of the things I want to see involve being outside and the winter is just ugh. I can’t wait for nicer weather to go see temples, museums, islands, and beaches! But for now, I’ll be focusing on work and making this place my own! πŸ˜‰

Ihope you enjoyed my post about my apartment in Korea! πŸ™‚ Overall, I am pretty satisfied with my apartment and I feel very fortunate to be able to have such a nice one-person-studio with a decent size to it. I can’t wait for friends and family to come visit me in my new home! πŸ™‚ I really feel like things are coming together, so I’m excited to see how it progresses!

Cheers,

Jess

Leave a Reply

