Three Month Update in Korea

Hello everyone!

Three months. That’s one fourth of a year. A quarter. Wow. I can’t believe how quickly time has passed since I’ve been living in Korea! I wanted to write a quick post about my time here since I’ve been really bad about keeping up with my blog… (oops)… I have quite a few posts I have yet to write so keep an eye for those!

img_3685Anyways, today was officially the last day of the Winter Term 2015. The students I’ve had are the only students I’ve known at this hagwon (Korean institute / private school). It will be weird having a new batch of students (and some familiar faces) and starting over on what works and doesn’t work. But in all honestly, I am very excited! It’ll be a fresh start and I can implement the things I’ve wanted to implement after some trial and error.

I really do enjoy my time working at a hagwon and I’m looking forward to how the rest of my time working in a hagwon will be. Yes, it can be tedious at times, but what job isn’t tedious? I just always remind myself at how fortunate I am to have this opportunity. It’s a wonderful start to my career and an amazing experience!

Aside from work, I’ve slowly turned my apartment into a homier place. It’s still a work in progress, but I’m quite pleased with how it is at the moment. I now have a futon! No desk yet (which I blame for my lack of productivity and blogging.. hehe) but I’ve found the exact style I want from IKEA. Yes, Korea has an IKEA! I just need to figure out if I want to pay for it to be shipped to me or find a ride somehow..hmm..

img_3164As far as my travels in Korea, I’ve been to a handful of places during my weekends and breaks, but there’s so much more I want to see (and of the world for that matter)! The weather is still a bit cooler which has hindered me from going to certain places (okay, maybe the weather isn’t to blame, but I’m saving certain experience for nicer weather!). Basically, this winter / weird spring(?) has felt very long and I’m ready for nice weather!

I also think the people I’ve met have made a significant impact on me–I really think my experience would be different without them. Being in a ‘foreign’ place can make you feel lonely at times (or easy to try to be lonely). I really enjoy spending time with people and nothing is better than good company when you are away from all of your friends and family from back ‘home’. So, here’s a shoutout to those I’ve met in Korea! Thank you for impacting my life! πŸ™‚

img_3085I really love Korea. I’ve discovered a lot about this great country and myself. I’m slowly learning Korean betterΒ and building my confidence. I’ve met some friends to practice with and I am actually taking classes starting TOMORROW! I’m really looking forward to class–I can feel that my confidence will go up! Learning another language is not easy, especially when you are very shy and feel self-conscious for not knowing more because you are in fact, part Korean yourself… That’s a whole another story, but that has been my biggest struggle in Korea. I will dig at those details later, but right now, I’m in a good place. I just have to remind myself to take the opportunities presented to me and soar! Time for some positive vibes and the time is now. Here’s to the next part of my wonderful journey!

Cheers,

Jess

Leave a Reply

