Korean Class in Yongsan

Hello all,

This will be a short post, but I wanted to write about my first Korean class here in Korea. After doing some research, asking around, and failed attempts at studying independently, I finally found a class that offered to teach Korean (FOR FREE, mind you) that fit my schedule. I was so excited to find something to suit my needs, that I had to share it with other people also interested in learning Korean better. 🙂

img_3693The first class started yesterday in Yongsan, so naturally, I wanted to explore the area. I went with another friend and looked up ‘things to do in Yongsan’ finding only a few things to catch our interest. We decided to go to the electronics market and I was quite disappointed to be honest lol. It was hard to find as there were a ton of electronic stores (didn’t know where to start) that posed as maybe independent places rather than the actual market. The part that scared me was how dead it was. There were little to no people out and about on a Saturday afternoon, which I thought was odd. Either way, we did find some malls with some people in it, so I think we found the right place!

img_3696
BBQ for lunch!

After that interesting experience, we went to Myeongdong to do some shopping and ended up showing up to the class late (anyone who knows me knows how terrible I am at directions). There ended up being no desk space or textbooks. 😦 I learned my lesson and will definitely show up earlier next time. Aside from that, I really enjoyed the class! I thought the teaching objective and approach was quite nice and interactive. I also felt that the level was suitable for me (there are several levels you can choose from) where it wasn’t too easy and not too difficult. It feels more like I’m filling in the gaps and refreshing my memory! 🙂

I’m really excited to continue going to class and I am more motivated to study hard! I just have to keep reminding myself that these things take time. I’m glad I took the initiative to do this for myself. Have you ever had experience taking a class or learning Korean in a different way?

Until next time,

Jess

Leave a Reply

