Taiwan Day 3: The Best of the Best

Hello everyone,

Well, I have officially broken my streak as I got caught up in the busyness of life: extra classes have started, my sister came to visit, prepping for extra work, studying for tests, and planning for future things. I haven’t given up on my goal and plan to continue it; I just think of it as a temporary pause on my streak… πŸ™‚

img_1767

So back to this actual post, we woke up in the morning, skipping breakfast as we knew we would have some delicious Taiwanese food after visiting some monuments. πŸ™‚ Our first stop was at the Chiang Kai-shek Memorial, which was spacious and very clean! Since we were there in the morning, we noticed many dance practices, students prepping for performances, and just general tourists as well. It was quite busy for the morning!

img_1788img_1791Borderline hangry, we found a wonderful beef noodle place (so sad I didn’t write down the name or take a pic of the place) that was seriously the best bowl of beef noodles I’ve ever had. No joke. And the dumplings were just divine! Taiwanese food was becoming a favorite for me. πŸ™‚ Sooooo good!

img_1792With filled tummies, we were ready for our next destination: museums with beautiful jade! Except……. we totally ended up at the wrong museum and just disappointingly looked at some art work, thinking of the other museum we wanted to see. It’s okay, it was still nice to visit and we weren’t in any rush. I did grow to appreciate museums in Taiwan as they hold a lot of history. It’s kind of cool to think about places that have had a long history whereas some countries I’ve lived and visited were fairly new in comparison.

img_1819After our time in the museum, we decided to visit Taipei 101, which is of course their famous tower in the city of, you guessed it, Taipei. Even though we saw the tower at night the other day, we were still eager to go to the top and get a good view of Taipei. Up we went and learned about different parts of the tower and how it reacts in earthquake situations. Apparently they use a ball technology that kind of moves with the earthquakes in order to keep in stable. Interesting!

Feeling hungry, we were ready for dinner and shamelessly ordered more beef noodles! πŸ˜€ But not only that, we also got some dumplings, which had soup inside of them! It was seriously the best. I can’t remember the exact name at the moment, but I always call them soup dumplings (Louis knows what I’m talking about) and try to get them whenever I’m visiting parts of Asia that have them. πŸ™‚ A first for me, but a lifelong favorite. πŸ˜€ I was soooo happy and it was probably the start of my weight gain in Asia. LOL.

img_1840img_1844img_1846Overall, a good day. We had the best of the best seeing great monuments, eating wonderful food, and seeing all of Taipei from up above. Happy days. πŸ™‚

Until next time,

Jess

Leave a Reply

