Taiwan Day 6: Rocks, Markets, and Lanterns

img_2014Hi everyone!

I just recently came back from my holiday to Malaysia & Thailand for Chinese / Lunar New Year which I will make a few posts about later! I am still behind on my posts, but will be catching up! I bought a new laptop which will help with loading things faster and just overall organization. My old laptop was over ten years old! No joke, it was super old. New changes are good and things are looking up right now! Be expecting more blog posts for the next months. I won’t be traveling out of the country for a while which means some ideal blogging time.

img_2072Back to this post… Day 6 was a great day as we spent some time outside of Taipei. We ventured out north to check out some nature. As much as I love the city, I most definitely prefer some beautiful sights of nature. Yehliu Geopark was on my list of places to see in Taiwan so here we were, finally! There are many interesting rocks here at this park. It is easy to walk around although there are some places marked off for safety purposes. Here’s a close up of what the porous parts of the rocks look like. I’m not sure how they formed that way but it was still cool to see.

img_2064img_2113

Yehliu Geopark was definitely one of my favorite places in Taiwan. Even thought it rained a little bit, I still enjoyed my time there and was amazed by the beauty of it all! Highly recommend taking a day trip from Taipei.

img_2118Along our roadtrip, we stopped at some more beautiful rocks (okay so maybe I’m more into rocks that others but whatever)
called Nanya Rock. img_2149Although it was a really quick stop along the road, we found it to be interesting and enjoyed our short moment. Not only that, but we stopped along some beautiful ‘mini waterfalls’ and our driver was so great at taking photos of our trip! It’s always nice to have an extra person to take photos of you, aye? πŸ˜‰

12512824_10207304386666212_3590217330772311075_nOur next stop was at Jiufen Market, which is really close to Taipei City. We heard a lot about this market and had some friends visit there before. They mentioned that this market was kind of crazy since it’s so packed! Well, they weren’t wrong as we discovered easily for ourselves how busy it was! It wasn’t so bad because there were a lot of delicious things to be sold and bought by us of course. There are also street food, drinks, perfumes, candies, desserts, and meats. Being at the market was pretty exciting for me with the busyness, which surprised me as I get annoyed in big crowds at times.

We left the market with bags of goodies and souvenirs for friends and family, so we knew we did Jiufen Market right! πŸ™‚

12573817_10207304389946294_532569356581804508_n12565545_10207304389826291_2507774406748239200_nTo end our day trip, we decided to bring in the new year with a more traditional approach: lanterns! This was my first time sending a lantern, so the boy definitely had to guide me during this process. πŸ™‚ We wrote wishes and happiness onto our lantern and after realizing we had too much space, we wrote in other languages and ridiculous words that made us laugh. πŸ™‚ It was special to make something like this with my partner. It really made me reflect on what I went through during 2015. I also thought about how much we had grown in our relationship as long distance isn’t easy. I am so happy we decided to stay together and are continuing to grow in our relationship! Someday we will close that gap… looking forward to 2018 when that happens. πŸ™‚

Speaking of the new year, Chinese New Year / Lunar New Year recently passed (CNY is technically still happening as we speak) and so I just wanted to wish all of my family, friends, and fellow bloggers / readers a wonderful 2017. ❀

Best wishes,

Jess

Leave a Reply

